Day 2 of BloggerCon IV

Posted on June 24, 2006. Filed under: BloggerCon |

Today was the second and finally day of BloggerCon IV, which I attend virtually again via IRC, the docNography and the Webcast. Today there was virtually no live video feeds, but we went on, but based off of people, who actually attended, the room was not as full as some people thought it would be. Maybe it was a little too much Smoozing the night before?

Well the day started of with Dave Winer leading the Half Time Show, with the MP3 file here, and the docNography here. This session mainly dealt with what can we do to stop the limiting of knowledge to the masses, and getting information back to developers.

Session number 2 was called How to Make Money, led by John Palfrey with the MP3 here and docNography here. This session discussed the numerous ways to make money with blogs. There is alot of good info in this session, ranging from using Adsense, or sponsored Advertisement to making money from your blog via consulting. This particular session is probably the best one of the day.

The next session title Building Bridges, led by Elisa Camahort from BlogHer with the MP3 of the session here and the docNography here. Going into this particular session, I thought they were going to discuss how to create a community around your blog, or getting to know more about your fellow Bloggers, boy was I surprised. To me this session was more of a complaining session, about how women or minorities don't get a fair shake in the Blogosphere, which I think is a bunch of bull. However I am a fat white guy, so I probably don't know all that much. My opinion is if I find a blog that is interesting to me, I will read it. It doesn't matter if you are man or a woman, green or blue, as long as your opinion makes me think, or is somewhat insightful I will read it. I am interested in Tech, the Web, Science, Space, and Sports just to name a few, is it my fault that the majority of bloggers on this subject are men? Are there women who blog about these subjects? Yes. Am I supposed to read these blogs because they are written by women? No, I read blogs with insight and that are interesting. Sorry for the rant, but I had to get that out. With the end of this session they took their Lunch break.

After comming back from Lunch, Lance Knobel kicked off the Session about the Election 2008, MP3 and docNography. This session covered the topic, "what can blog/bloggers do to influence elections." While this discussion mainly centered on American politics, it was interesting to listen to. For me politics is one subject I think people should make their own mind up on, so if you are interested in this session, listen to the MP3 and follow along with Doc Searls notes.

Ryanne Hodson kicked off the Video Blogging session next. MP3 of the session is here and Doc's notes are here. Truthfully, I did not pay too much attention to this session since Video Blogging is not something I am interested in right now. So if you want to find out more about the tools and uses of Video Blogging listen to the MP3 while following along with Doc's notes. The thing I did find funny about this session was that it was about Video Blogging but yet there was no video available for it.
Mike Arrington of TechCrunch fame drew the honor of talking about Core Values, you can follow the docNography here. Mike started this session off talking about comment trolls, and how it felt to get negative or abusive comments. Then the session tackled the issue of is it ok to delete comments? The session ended with the topic of conflicts of interests and what should you do when it happens to you. This session really got under my skin, I haven't heard so much whining since the election of 2000. Trolls will always be there, and if they see that their comments hurt you, then they will continue. If you can't handle the trolls then turn off the comments, or don't blog. I'm not going to say much about this session since it did annoy me, and I don't want to say something I might regret later.

For some reason Dave hasn't posted the final 2 MP3's, so you can check the BloggerCon website's MP3 section, to see if he posts them after I finish writing this.
Dave Winer finished BloggerCon IV with his Fat Man Sings session, here Dave started talking about why he has chose to stop blogging at the end of this year. Dave hinted he might write a book after his blogging days are behind him, or he might come up with a new form of media. The session moved on to what BloggerCon V can do next year.

My thoughts on this BloggerCon, well it was interesting to see my first conference or unconference, but there are some things I would of liked to have seen. Such as more use of the suggestion or comments from the IRC, all of use in IRC had some good comments or ideas at times, but nothing was seen by the group as a whole. Maybe they could of had some sort of Skypecast available for people from the IRC to call in and make their comments. Really this conference was mainly for the big hitters in the Blogosphere, not for the average users. I really think there should be an effort to use the views and comments of the average user more. Most of the people at the conference were people who have some of the top drawing bloggers out there, not the small guys like me. Thats just my opinion. Overall it was nice to see this in virtual person, I think I would like to attend next years BloggerCon, if possible.

Tom Morris is putting on a podcast chat using Skypecast tomorrow at 5pm BST (10am PDT or 12pm EST). Here are the details. It's for people who are either at BloggerCon or have been listening to the streams or podcasts or following the blogs and Flickr.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

